01 /
LA DESTINATION

Nous voyageons vers des destinations remarquables, riches en beauté et culture naturelles et imprégnées d'histoire fascinante et d'actualité. Pourtant, ce sont aussi des endroits rarement visités par les touristes étrangers.

Parfois, cela est simplement dû à un manque de connaissances sur les raisons ou les moyens de s'y rendre, parfois à cause de problèmes de sécurité.

02/
LES MAITRES

Les voyages ISHKAR sont accompagnés d'un ‘maître’ pour donner à nos voyageurs une opportunitét inégalée non seulement de voir une destination, mais de s'engager plus profondément avec le pays et sa culture.

Nous voyageons avec des photojournalistes primés, des artistes de renommée internationale, des athlètes olympiques et des experts en conservation.

Grâce à leur expérience, nos maîtres offrent des perspectives et des perspectives uniques, aidant les voyageurs à développer leurs compétences et à vivre des expériences inoubliables.

03/
LA GROUPE

Nous voyageons en petits groupes de voyageurs curieux et critiques.

Nous interviewons tous ceux qui postulent à nos voyages pour nous assurer que chaque groupe est composé d'un mélange de personnes bien assorti et éclectique.

Les voyages sont souvent sursouscrits et nous travaillons dur pour sélectionner des groupes de voyageurs qui marchent bien ensemble. Nos voyages attirent à la fois les voyageurs en solo et les couples.

04/
IMPACT ENVIRONNEMENTAL
& SOCIAL

L'impact social est au cœur de notre voyage. Grâce aux voyages, nous générons des opportunités économiques dans des communautés isolées du commerce international et du tourisme. Nous sommes également fermement déterminés à voyager de manière respectueuse de l'environnement.

Nous compensons les émissions de carbone générées par les vols de nos voyageurs (ils n’ont pas le choix!) Et les nôtres, réinvestissant actuellement environ 20% de nos bénéfices annuels pour ce faire.

Nous travaillons en partenariat avec la Wildlife Conservation Society, plantant des cultures denses de peupliers dans le centre de l'Afghanistan d'une manière conçue pour assurer une capture maximale du carbone. En savoir plus sur notre approche environnementale ici.

Nous faisons aucun compromis
sur la sécurité

Assurer la sécurité de nos voyageurs est au cœur de ce que nous faisons. Nous nous déplaçons uniquement dans des zones qui répondent aux critères rigoureux de nos évaluations approfondies des risques et où nous avons un réseau établi et solide de partenaires locaux pour assurer notre sécurité et fournir les informations de sécurité les plus à jour.

Notre directrice des voyages, Zanna Baker, est une ancienne officier militaire britannique, et nous consultons un large éventail d'experts sur le terrain pour assurer le voyage le plus sûr possible.

En savoir plus sur notre approche de la sécurité ici..

CE QUE NOUS NE SOMMES PAS

Nous ne sommes pas des promoteurs du tourisme de guerre

ISHKAR a été créé pour contester le «tourisme de guerre» et toutes les formes de «tourisme de pauvreté». Bien que nous voyagions souvent dans des pays qui sont ou ont été touchés par des conflits, nos voyages sont conçus pour surprendre, informer et inspirer, révélant les côtés de ces pays rarement vus dans les nouvelles.

De même, nous sommes conscients de ne pas orienter ou exotiser nos destinations - nous nous efforçons de montrer les lieux tels qu'ils sont et non pas comment les gens pourraient les fantasmer.

Ceux qui participent à des voyages ISHKAR sont ouverts d'esprit et prêts à remettre en question leurs notions préexistantes.

Nous ne sommes pas une entreprise de voyages d'aventure

Alors que beaucoup de nos voyages peuvent être aventureux, «l'aventure» n'est qu'une petite partie de ce qui constitue un voyage ISHKAR. Nos voyages attirent ceux qui souhaitent voir leurs perspectives remises en question, pas leurs limites physiques (bien que, selon le voyage, cela puisse aussi arriver!).

Reservez nos

Futurs Voyages

Vector Image
Afghanistan
  • Photographie |
    A Quilty
  • Oct 2020



Racontez vos propres hirtsoires sur l'Afghanistan à travers des ateliers de photographie avec Andrew Quilty et explorez la région enchanté de Bamiyan, en Afghanistan.

Vector Image
KURDISTAN IRAKIEN
  • Illustration |
    G Butler
  • Oct 2020



Voyagez à travers le Kurdistan irakien pendant 10 jours et apprenez l'art d'illustrer vos expériences avec un stylo et papier et les conseils de l'artiste George Butler.

Vector Image
Afghanistan
  • Ski Hors-Piste |
    S Husseini & A Farhang
  • Début 2021

Aventurez-vous dans les montagnes lointaines du Koh-e-Baba, dans l'Afghanistan central, et skiez avec les champions nationaux de ski Afghan lors d'un voyage d'hiver de 10 jours à Bamiyan.

Vector Image
PAKISTAN
  • Photography |
    M Paley
  • Spring 2021

Explore the soaring peaks and fascinating history of the Hunza valley in northern Pakistan for 12 days, with National Geographic photographer, Matthieu Paley.

Racontrez Notre Equipe

Edmund le Brun

Cofondateur

Edmund a vécu et a travaillé en Afghanistan depuis 2013. Il est tombé amoureux de la région à l'âge de 18 ans, passant 12 mois à vivre dans le Xinjiang, une province chinoise qui borde le corridor Wakhan en Afghanistan. Edmund est membre de la Royal Geographic Society, ayant fait partie de deux expéditions pionnières (et calamiteuses!) Pour faire du raft sur des rivières auparavant non raftées en Afghanistan et au Pakistan. Entre autres aventures, il a pédalé de Londres à Istanbul et traversé le désert du Taklamakan à vélo. Edmund est diplômé de l'Université d'Oxford et Forbes 30 under 30 pour l'entrepreneuriat social.

Flore de Taisne

Cofondatrice

Avant de fonder ISHKAR, Flore a travaillé pour l'ambassade de France à Damas et Samuel Hall en Afghanistan où elle a consulté des organisations telles que l'ONU et la Banque mondiale. Flore a beaucoup voyagé à travers le Moyen-Orient et l'Asie centrale, et a traversé le Kirghizistan et le Tadjikistan à pied et à cheval en 2012. Flore est titulaire d'un BA en histoire du King's College de Londres, et d'un master conjoint de LSE et de Sciences Po en économie politique internationale et politique économique, où elle était boursière de l'Entente cordiale. Elle est Forbes 30 under 30 for Social Entrepreneurship.

Zanna Baker

Directrice des Voyages

Zanna est une ancienne officier de l'armée britannique qui a travaillé en tant que conseiller régional de sécurité, culturel et politique couvrant le Mali, le Niger et la Somalie. Pendant son temps dans l'armée, Zanna faisait partie de l'équipe pionnière Ice Maiden - la première équipe entièrement féminine à traverser l'Antarctique en utilisant seule la puissance musculaire. Zanna détient une qualification de premier secours de haut niveau pour les environnements éloignés.

ERNESTO ROLLANDO

Gestionnaire de projet

La passion d'Ernesto pour l'Afghanistan est née lorsqu'il a dirigé un programme de prévention des avalanches avec les skieurs de Bamiyan pour le compte de l'ONG Alpistan. L'expérience diversifiée d'Ernesto comprend le travail pour le PNUD aux Samoa, l'apprentissage des compétences traditionnelles de la navigation océanique dans l'océan Pacifique et l'obtention d'une maîtrise en photojournalisme de l'Université des Arts de Londres. Il a gravi dix sommets sur plus de 4000m de sommets dans les Alpes, dont le Mont Blanc via l'Arête du Diable, Liskam et Grand Combin.

£{{amount}}

MON PANIER

Product added to your Cart

X
French

01 /
THE DESTINATION

We travel to remarkable destinations, rich in natural beauty and culture and steeped in fascinating history and current affairs. Yet these are also places which are rarely visited by foreign tourists.

Sometimes this is simply due to a lack of knowledge about why or how to travel there, sometimes due to concerns surrounding security.

However, what unites them all is that there is more to the places we travel to than is commonly known or understood.

02/
MASTERS

ISHKAR trips are accompanied by a 'master' to give our travelers a genuine and unparalleled opportunity to not just see a destination, but to engage more deeply with the country and its culture.

We travel with award-winning photojournalists, internationally regarded artists, Olympic athletes and conservation experts.

Through their experience, our masters provide unique insights and perspectives, helping travelers develop their skills and gain unforgettable experiences.

03/
FELLOW TRAVELLERS

We travel in small groups of curious and critically minded travelers.

We interview everyone who applies to our trips to make sure that each group is made up of a well-matched and eclectic blend of people.

The trips are often over-subscribed and we work hard to select groups of travelers who will work well together. Our trips attract both solo travellers and couples.

04/
ENVIRONMENTAL
& SOCIAL IMPACT

Social impact is at the core of our travel arm. Through travel we are generating economic opportunities in communities that have been isolated from international trade and tourism.We are also firmly committed to travelling in an environmentally responsible way.

We off-set the carbon emissions generated by our traveler’s flights (they get no choice!) and our own, currently reinvesting approximately 20% of our annual profits to do so.

We partner with the Wildlife Conservation Society, planting dense crops of poplar trees in central Afghanistan in a way designed to ensure maximum carbon capture. Read more about our environmental approach here.

WE are uncompromising
on security

Ensuring our traveller's safety is at the heart of what we do. We only travel to areas that meet the stringent criteria of our in-depth risk assessments, and where we have an established and strong network of local partners to ensure our security and provide the most up-to-date security information.

Our Head of Travel, Zanna Baker, is a former British military officer, and we consult with a wide range of on the ground experts to ensure the safest possible trip.

Read more about our approach to security here.

What we are not

We are not promoters of war-tourism

ISHKAR was established to challenge 'war tourism' and every form of 'poverty tourism'. Although we often travel in countries that are, or have been, affected by conflict, our trips are designed to surprise, inform and inspire, revealing sides to these countries rarely seen in the news.

Similarly, we are conscious of not orientalising, or exoticising our destinations — we endeavor to show places as they are and not how people might fantasize them to be.

Those who join ISHKAR trips are open-minded and ready to have their pre-existing notions challenged.

We are not an adventure travel company

While many of our trips may be adventurous, 'adventure' is only a small part of what makes up an ISHKAR trip. Our trips attract those that are keen to have their perspectives challenged, not their physical limits (though, depending on the trip, that might well happen too!).

Book our

Future Trips

Vector Image
Afghanistan
  • Photography |
    A Quilty
  • Oct 2020


Tell your own stories about Afghanistan through photography workshops with Andrew Quilty as you explore the enchanting region of Bamiyan, Afghanistan.

Vector Image
IRAQI KURDISTAN
  • Illustration |
    G Butler
  • Oct 2020


Journey through Iraqi Kurdistan for 10 days and learn the art of capturing your experiences with pen and paper under the guidance of reportage artist George Butler.

Vector Image
Afghanistan
  • Back-country Skiing |
    S Husaini & A Farhang
  • Feb & Mar 2021

Venture into the remote Koh-e-Baba mountains of central Afghanistan, and ski with Afghanistan's national ski champions during a 10 day winter trip to Bamiyan.

Meet our Team

Edmund le Brun

Co-founder

Edmund has lived and worked in Afghanistan since 2013. He first fell in love with the region when he was 18, spending 12 months living in Xinjiang, a Chinese province which borders Afghanistan's Wakhan Corridor. Edmund is a fellow of the Royal Geographic Society, having been part of two pioneering (and calamitous!) expeditions to raft previously un-rafted rivers in Afghanistan and Pakistan. Among other adventures, he has cycled from London to Istanbul and traversed the Taklamakan desert by bike. Edmund is a graduate of Oxford University and a Forbes 30 under 30 for social entrepreneurship.

Flore de Taisne

Co-founder

Prior to founding ISHKAR, Flore worked for the French Embassy in Damascus, and Samuel Hall in Afghanistan where she consulted for organisations such as the UN and the World Bank. Flore has travelled widely across the Middle East and Central Asia, and travelled across Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan  by foot and horse in 2012. Flore holds a BA in History from King’s College London, and a Joint Masters from LSE and Sciences Po in International political economy and economic policy, where she was an Entente Cordiale Scholar. She is a Forbes 30 under 30 for Social Entrepreneurship.

Zanna Baker

Head of Travel

Zanna is a former British Army officer who worked as a regional security, cultural and political advisor covering Mali, Niger and Somalia. During her time in the Army, Zanna was part of the pioneering Ice Maiden team – the first all female team to cross Antarctica using muscle power alone. Zanna is experienced in the mountains and holds a high level first aid qualification for remote environments.

ERNESTO ROLLANDO

Project Manager

Ernesto’s passion for Afghanistan was born when he led an avalanche prevention programme with the skiers of Bamiyan on behalf of the NGO, Alpistan. Ernesto’s diverse range of previous experiences include working for UNDP in Samoa, learning traditional skills of Oceanic navigation in the Pacific Ocean, and gaining an MA in Photojournalism from the University of the Arts of London. He has climbed ten peaks over 4000m peaks in the Alps, including Mont Blanc via Arête du Diable, Liskam and Grand Combin.

£{{amount}}

Cart

Product added to your Cart

X
English