L'Histoire Inédite

Sicile

  • Sicile: L'Histoire Inédite
  • Sicile: L'Histoire Inédite
  • Sicile: L'Histoire Inédite
  • Sicile: L'Histoire Inédite
  • Sicile: L'Histoire Inédite
  • Sicile: L'Histoire Inédite
  • Sicile: L'Histoire Inédite
  • Sicile: L'Histoire Inédite
  • Sicile: L'Histoire Inédite
  • Sicile: L'Histoire Inédite
  • Sicile: L'Histoire Inédite
  • Sicile: L'Histoire Inédite

Sicile: L'Histoire Inédite

[ Six left ]
Prix normal
£500.00
Prix réduit
£500.00
Prix normal
Épuisé
Prix unitaire
par 
Prix normal
£500.00
Prix réduit
£500.00
Prix normal
Épuisé
Prix unitaire
par 
Taxes incluses.

Découvrez la Sicile en septembre 2021. Rejoignez le photographe sicilien primé Glauco Canalis alors que nous explorons le fascinant patrimoine romain, arabe et normand de l'île, son littoral étincelant et sa célèbre cuisine. Nous proposons également un supplément optionnel de deux jours sur l'île préservée de Filicudi dans l'archipel éolien.

Le prix total du voyage est de 4490 $. Nous interviewons tous ceux qui postulent pour rejoindre le voyage. Une fois sélectionnés, les participants devront payer un acompte de 650 $ pour garantir leur place pendant le voyage.

Pour enregistrer votre intérêt et pour plus d'informations, veuillez nous contacter à explore@ishkar.com, ou réservez une consultation avec nous en cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessus.

Quoi?

Un voyage pour explorer les histoires inédites de la Sicile, et découvrir l'histoire fascinante, la beauté et la richesse culinaire de la plus grande île de la Méditerranée.

Ou?

À partir de Catane, l'itinéraire suivra les côtes sud et ouest de la Sicile pour se terminer à Palerme. Il y a l'option de deux jours supplémentaires sur l'île reculée de Filicudi dans l'archipel éolien.

Quand?

Nous organiserons un voyage de 7 jours: du 11 au 17 septembre 2021. Contactez-nous pour plus d'informations.

Contactez-nous à explore@ishkar.com pour les dates précises et le dossier d'informations sur le voyage.

Qui?

Le voyage est ouvert à tous les esprits curieux. Glauco Canalis sera sur place pour offrir des conseils de photographie individuels et des ateliers sur le terrain pendant que nous voyageons. Cependant, vous n'avez pas besoin d'être un photographe expert - le voyage est également ouvert à ceux qui sont attirés par l'opportunité d'explorer seuls une île fascinante.

Nous serons une petite équipe de 8 personnes maximum. Tout au long du voyage, nous serons accompagnés par Glauco Canalis et un membre de l'équipe ISHKAR.

En raison de la forte demande, nous interrogeons toutes les personnes qui postulent pour participer à des voyages ISHKAR. Votre expérience de voyage en groupe est aussi importante pour nous que l'expérience de destination.

Prix et Réservation

Le prix total du voyage est de 4 490 USD . Un dépôt non remboursable de 650 USD est nécessaire pour garantir votre place pendant le voyage.

Veuillez noter qu'en payant l'acompte, vous acceptez de respecter notre Conditions générales.

Pour plus d'informations, contactez-nous à l'adresse: explore@ishkar.com , ou pour réserver une consultation avec nous: Cliquez ici

Veuillez noter qu'un supplément pour personne seule sera ajouté au prix si vous ne souhaitez pas partager une chambre.

* Lorsque des paiements internationaux sont dus, nous vous demandons de vous assurer que le montant total est reçu une fois que tous les frais bancaires ont été prélevés, conformément le prix et la devise indiqués sur la facture indiquée.

Preorders explained

Si un article est en rupture de stock, vous pouvez le précommander afin que vous soyez le premier à le recevoir à son retour. Une fois que vous avez pré-commandé un article, nous garantissons que la commande vous sera expédiée dans un délai de quatre mois. Si l'article est livré en dehors de cette fenêtre, nous vous rembourserons votre argent. Souvent, la commande arrivera avant le délai de quatre mois. Contactez preorders@ishkar.com pour des informations plus précises sur le moment où les commandes pour ce produit sont susceptibles d'être prêtes.

Conditions générales

Lisez nos Conditions Générales ici.

Pour plus d'informations sur les voyages pendant la période du COVID-19, veuillez consulter notre Politique COVID-19 relative aux voyages.

Detail

NOTRE DESTINATION

La légende des trois nymphes représente la naissance de la Sicile. Ces êtres splendides ont erré sur le globe, ramassant un sol fertile, de petites pierres et des fruits succulents, qu'ils ont jetés dans la mer. Leurs danses illuminaient les eaux comme un arc-en-ciel, et une nouvelle terre rayonnante émergeait des vagues - triangulaire, une cape sous les pieds de chaque nymphe. Le mythe de l'origine reste valable: la Sicile semble offrir le meilleur de tout.

La Sicile est la plus grande île de la Méditerranée. Situé à seulement 150 km du continent africain, elle est connu pour sa magnifique côte cristalline et ses collines verdoyantes. Celles-ci s'élèvent jusqu'à leur point culminant sur l'Etna, le volcan actif.

POURQUOI LA SICILE?

Ayant déjà effectué des voyages en Afghanistan, en Irak, en RDC et au Pakistan, vous pourriez vous demander quelle est la place de la Sicile? ISHKAR a été fondée pour montrer un côté plus nuancé des endroits que le monde a tendance à voir à travers un seul objectif. Et la Sicile est peut-être mieux connue pour abriter la mafia italienne.

Si la mafia joue un rôle important dans l’histoire récente de la Sicile, elle n’est qu’un petit élément de l’histoire de la Sicile (et certainement pas l’élément le plus intéressant!).

La Sicile a toujours été un carrefour de civilisations. C’est un trésor d’histoires, de son héritage grec, romain, arabe et normand, au rôle qu’elle joue dans les routes migratoires d’aujourd’hui au nord de l’Afrique. Le mémorial le plus impressionnant de ces diverses influences se trouve dans son art et son architecture.

L'île a également joué un rôle central pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, mais la collaboration entre la mafia et l'armée américaine n'a pas encore été entièrement dévoilée. Nous suivrons le fil de ces histoires avec le photographe sicilien primé Glauco Canalis, tout en admirant les superbes paysages côtiers de la Sicile et sa cuisine de renommée mondiale.

RENCONTREZ LE MAITRE

Né et élevé à Catane, Glauco est un photographe primé basé à Londres. Son travail se concentre sur l'identité des jeunes et les communautés sous-représentées en Sicile et à travers l'Europe. Ses travaux passés incluent le livre «Sicily-49», sur l’influence américaine en Sicile après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il a également documenté San Berillo de Catane, autrefois un quartier rouge notoire et maintenant un creuset culturel qui constituera un moment fort de notre voyage.

«Je regarde mon travail avec l'idée de ce que cela signifiera dans une ère future. Dans cette perspective postdatée, tout devient pertinent: l'attitude, la mode, l'architecture et le paysage habité par les sujets. »

@Glaucocanalis


VOYAGE DE GROUPE

Nos voyages attirent des personnes informées et aventureuses du monde entier.

Certains d'entre vous seront attirés par la promesse de bons repas, de baignades et de conversations, d'autres seront attirés par la chance d'acquérir une appréciation plus profonde de l'histoire, d'autres encore pour apprendre à améliorer vos compétences en photographie en passant du temps avec Glauco . Ce voyage est pour tous: conçu pour concilier loisirs et découverte. Ce qui unit tout le monde, c'est le même esprit curieux et le même désir de s'éloigner des sentiers touristiques typiques.

Nous apprenons à connaître tous ceux qui postulent à nos voyages par téléphone. De cette façon, nous pouvons organiser des groupes qui apprécieront de partager cette expérience extraordinaire ensemble.


LE PRIX

Le prix du voyage est de 4490 $ , avec l'option d'un supplément single supplémentaire. Le prix comprend 3 repas par jour, les rafraîchissements, l'hébergement, les transports / transferts dans le pays et tous les frais d'entrées dans le pays. Veuillez nous contacter pour plus d'informations sur le séjour supplémentaire sur l'île de Filicudi.

Un dépôt de 650 $ garantira votre place. La somme finale sera payée 60 jours avant le départ.

Vols, visas et autres informations: Une fois que vous avez rempli notre formulaire de demande en ligne et payé votre acompte, nous vous aiderons à identifier les vols appropriés et vous assisterons dans votre demande de visa (pour les citoyens non européens). Avant le départ, nous vous enverrons un guide avec des informations supplémentaires, y compris votre itinéraire et une liste de colisage.

Veuillez nous contacter à explore@ishkar.com pour savoir comment postuler.


Membre Equipe ISHKAR

Votre point de contact ISHKAR pour le voyage est Ernesto Rollando.

Si vous avez des questions sur le voyage, Ernesto est toujours disponible pour y répondre. Envoyez un e-mail à explore@ishkar.com.

Ernesto Rollando ~ Chef de projet

Bien que le travail d'Ernesto se concentre principalement sur des pays comme l'Afghanistan et le Pakistan, il est passionné par son propre pays, l'Italie. Il s’est rendu dans les 20 régions d’Italie, pour se rendre compte qu’il faudrait plus d’une vie pour découvrir toute la richesse naturelle et le patrimoine culturel du pays. En plus d'être un alpiniste expérimenté, ses diverses expériences antérieures vont du travail pour le PNUD aux Samoa à l'apprentissage des techniques traditionnelles de navigation océanique dans l'océan Pacifique.

" class="redactor-linkify-object" />

Points saillants

01 / NEXUS DES EMPIRES: PATRIMOINE ARABE-NORMAND, ROMAIN ET GREC

Autrefois partie des empires grec et romain, en 827, une flotte d'envahisseurs arabes arriva en Sicile. En quelques années, ils ont conquis l'île. Ils ont ensuite été eux-mêmes expulsés de l'île des Normands, mais la culture arabe a continué à coexister sous les rois normands, entraînant une période extraordinaire de synchronisme culturel. Découvrez les traces de cette période extraordinaire de l'histoire à Palerme et dans la charmante ville côtière de Marsala, qui signifie en arabe «Le port d'Allah».

02 / «NOTRE TERRE, NOS AFFAIRES»: LA MAFIA ET L'OCCUPATION CONTROVERSIE AUX ÉTATS-UNIS

Certains pensent que la tristement célèbre mafia de Sicile - connue localement sous le nom de Cosa Nostra , "notre truc" - sont enracinés dans les traditions de banditisme arabe qui ont émergé lors de la chute arabe sur l'île au 11ème siècle. La mafia a été écrasée par le fascisme dans les années 1920 et 1930, mais est revenue avec le débarquement américain et l'occupation de la Sicile pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Découvrez cette partie captivante et tragique de l’histoire moderne de la Sicile.

03 / SAN BERILLO: CROSSROAD OF CONTINENTS

San Berillo est un exemple frappant du multiculturalisme d’aujourd’hui sur l’île. La communauté sénégalaise est la plus implantée de la région, un creuset de migrants ouest-africains et sud-est asiatiques. Grâce aux connaissances intimes de Glauco, découvrez les sites, les odeurs et les histoires de ce quartier méconnu.


04 / GASTRONOMIE: MULTICULTURELLE ET KM0

Amandes, artichauts, cannelle, oranges, pistaches et pastèques: tous ces produits sont désormais typiques de la cuisine sicilienne, mais ils ont d'abord été introduits d'Afrique du Nord et du Moyen-Orient. Goûtez à ces particularités de la gastronomie sicilienne, un axe clé de cet itinéraire. Nous allons également goûter à certains des célèbres plats de rue de la Sicile.

Testimonial

Soyez prêt à changer votre cœur et votre esprit. Voyage à impact positif rendu possible par ISHKAR et ses excellents partenaires locaux. Je recommande vivement ce voyage à tous ceux qui souhaitent contester les fausses perceptions et les peurs obsolètes.

- Sophie Strobele,
Voyageuse ISHKAR 2020


Ce fut une joie absolue de voyager avec ISHKAR - immersif, authentique et amusant.

- Annabel Illingworth,
Voyageuse ISHKAR 2020


Le voyage ne concernait pas seulement ma vision du lieu, mais toutes les expériences que j'ai vécues avec le groupe. Ce fut un voyage révélateur et enrichissant.

- Andi Iskandar,
Voyageur ISHKAR 2020

COMMENT COVID-19 AFFECTERA-T-IL LE VOYAGE?

Afin de protéger à la fois nos voyageurs et ceux avec lesquels nos voyageurs entrent en contact, nous imposons un ensemble strict de protocoles COVID-19 qui incluent la distanciation sociale, l'utilisation de désinfectant pour les mains et le port de masques. Nos procédures COVID-19 sont basées sur des conseils à jour de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé en plus de suivre les exigences locales. En plus de nos informations de sécurité, nous nous assurons d'envoyer notre document de procédures COVID-19 à chaque voyageur.

Tous les voyageurs (quel que soit leur statut vaccinal) doivent obtenir un résultat de test PCR négatif dans les 72 heures avant le départ. Dans les 24 heures précédant le départ, les voyageurs (quel que soit leur statut vaccinal) doivent également obtenir la preuve d'un test antigénique rapide négatif. La preuve de ces deux tests doit être envoyée à ISHKAR avant le départ, et son coût sera couvert par le voyageur, et non par ISHKAR.

Si ISHKAR décide d'annuler un voyage à la suite du COVID-19 ou si un voyageur ne peut pas participer au voyage à la suite du COVID-19, des options vous seront proposées, y compris un remboursement complet selon notre < a href = "https://www.ishkar.com/pages/ishkar-travel-covid-19-policy"> Politique de voyage COVID-19 . Pour toute autre question, veuillez consulter nos FAQ sur le COVID-19 sur les voyages , et nos Protocoles COVID-19 , ou contactez un membre de l'équipe: explore@ishkar.com

Quel temps fait-il en septembre?

La Sicile a un climat méditerranéen, ce qui signifie que les automnes sont généralement chauds et secs, avec des précipitations exceptionnelles. Le maximum moyen dans la capitale Palerme est de 21 ° C en octobre. Cela tombe à 14 ° C la nuit, vous devriez donc apporter des vêtements plus chauds pour le soir. La température de la mer est de 19 ° C, tandis que le taux d'humidité est bas. Il y a 22 mm de pluie sur cinq jours et vous pouvez vous attendre à 14 heures de lumière du jour avec neuf heures de soleil par jour.

Où puis-je voir l'itinéraire exact?

Nous ne publions pas nos itinéraires en ligne. Nous vous donnerons de plus amples informations sur l'itinéraire sur demande. Veuillez écrire à explore@ishkar.com pour demander le dossier d'informations sur le voyage.

QU'EST-CE QUI EST INCLUS DANS LE PRIX?

Le coût comprend tous les hébergements, les guides, les transports / transferts, les petits-déjeuners, les déjeuners et les dîners et les éventuels frais d'entrée. Il n'inclut pas les vols internationaux à destination de Catane et hors de Palerme, frais de visa, assurance, frais d'excédent de bagages, appareils photo, alcool, nourriture et boissons supplémentaires, frais médicaux, pourboires.

Quand dois-je réserver?

Dès que possible, ce voyage sera probablement réservé rapidement. Un dépôt de 650 $ garantira votre place, et le solde final doit être payé 60 jours avant le départ. Vous pouvez payer cela en ligne ou par virement bancaire directement chez nous.

Est-il facile d'obtenir un visa?

Si vous faites partie de la région SCHENGEN, le visa n'est pas nécessaire. Cependant, si vous avez besoin d'un visa, nous vous fournirons des conseils supplémentaires pour vous aider dans votre demande, ainsi que des conseils pour votre pays de résidence. Veuillez noter que si vous avez besoin d'un visa, il est de votre responsabilité de l'organiser avant le départ.

Ai-je besoin d'une assurance voyage?

Nous vous demandons d'avoir une assurance voyage complète spécifique à la région et aux activités.

PUIS-JE VENIR SEUL?

Nous resterons en groupe pendant toute la durée du voyage. Vous pouvez choisir de voyager seul avant le départ ou après la fin du voyage, mais lorsque vous voyagez avec ISHKAR, il vous est demandé de rester avec le groupe.

Ai-je besoin de vaccins?

Des informations spécifiques au pays sont disponibles à l'adresse https://travelhealthpro.org.uk/ .

Que dois-je apporter?

Nous vous enverrons un manuel plus détaillé avant de partir, y compris les lectures et les vêtements recommandés.

Où allons-nous rester?

Nous séjournerons dans des hôtels et des maisons d'hôtes artistiques tout au long du voyage. Vous avez la possibilité de partager une chambre, ou de payer le supplément single (détails disponibles sur le formulaire de demande) si vous souhaitez avoir votre chambre.

Est-ce que je pourrai voyager seul?

Oui bien sûr! Les individus et les petits groupes sont également les bienvenus. Personnellement, nous pensons également que cela pourrait être le voyage parfait à vivre avec un ami, un parent, un enfant ou un partenaire!

Quand dois-je réserver mes vols?

Si vous envisagez de postuler, veuillez nous envoyer un e-mail à explore@ishkar.com et nous vous enverrons les vols dont vous aurez besoin pour réserver, afin de garantir la coordination des arrivées de tous les voyageurs.

Puis-je réserver même si je ne vis pas au Royaume-Uni?

Oui, bien sûr, nos voyageurs viennent toujours d'un mélange de pays différents.

DOIS-JE AVOIR UN BON APPAREIL PHOTO POUR LE VOYAGE?

Non, n'hésitez pas à apporter la caméra de votre choix, y compris simplement en utilisant la caméra de votre téléphone.

Puis-je venir seul?

Oui bien sûr! Les individus et les petits groupes sont également les bienvenus. Personnellement, nous pensons également que cela pourrait être le voyage parfait à vivre avec un ami, un parent, un enfant ou un partenaire!

A quoi ressemble la nourriture?

Tous les repas sont inclus. La cuisine sicilienne est exceptionnelle et tous nos restaurants ont été soigneusement choisis.

Quand dois-je réserver mes vols?

Si vous envisagez de postuler, veuillez nous envoyer un e-mail à explore@ishkar.com et nous vous enverrons les vols dont vous aurez besoin pour réserver, afin de garantir la coordination de toutes les arrivées des voyageurs.

Puis-je réserver même si je ne vis pas au Royaume-Uni?

Oui bien sûr, nos voyageurs viennent toujours d'un mélange de pays différents. Il vous suffira d'arriver à Catania.

Dois-je être un photographe passionné pour participer à ce voyage?

Non, absolument pas. & nbsp; Il y aura de nombreuses occasions d'explorer la région sans votre appareil photo, et Gluaco se fera un plaisir de vous fournir des conseils uniquement si vous le souhaitez.

Dois-je avoir un bon appareil photo pour le voyage?

Non, n'hésitez pas à apporter la caméra de votre choix, y compris simplement en utilisant la caméra de votre téléphone.

£{{amount}}

Panier

Product added to your Cart

X

The Untold Story

Explore Sicily

  • Explore Sicily: The Untold Story
  • Explore Sicily: The Untold Story
  • Explore Sicily: The Untold Story
  • Explore Sicily: The Untold Story
  • Explore Sicily: The Untold Story
  • Explore Sicily: The Untold Story
  • Explore Sicily: The Untold Story
  • Explore Sicily: The Untold Story
  • Explore Sicily: The Untold Story
  • Explore Sicily: The Untold Story
  • Explore Sicily: The Untold Story
  • Explore Sicily: The Untold Story

Explore Sicily: The Untold Story

[ Six left ]
Regular price
£500.00
Sale price
£500.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Regular price
£500.00
Sale price
£500.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included.

Join award-winning Sicilian photographer, Glauco Canalis as we delve into Sicily's fascinating Roman, Arabic and Norman heritage, sparkling coastline and famous cuisine in September 2021 for 7 days. We are also offering an optional add on of two days on the unspoiled island of Filicudi in the Aeolian archipelago.

The total price for the trip is $4490. We interview all those that apply to join the trip. Once selected, participants will be required to pay a $650 deposit to secure their place on the trip.

To register your interest and for further information, please contact us at explore@ishkar.com, or book a consultation with us by clicking on the button above.

What?

A trip to explore the untold stories of Sicily,  and to discover the fascinating history, beauty and culinary richness of the largest island in the Mediterranean Sea. 

Where?

Starting in Catania, the itinerary will follow the southern and western coasts of Sicily, finishing in Palermo. There is the option of two extra days in the remote Filicudi island in the Aeolian archipelago. 

When?

We will be running one 7-day trip: 11 to 17 September 2021. Contact us for further information. 

Contact us at explore@ishkar.com for the precise dates and the trip information pack.

Who?

The trip is open to all curious minds. Glauco Canalis will be on hand to offer one to one photography tips, and field workshops as we travel. However, you do not need to be an expert photographer - the trip is equally open to those who are drawn by the opportunity to explore a fascinating island alone.

We will be a small team of up to 8 people. Throughout the trip, we will be accompanied by Glauco Canalis  and a member of the ISHKAR team.

Due to high demand, we interview everyone who applies to join ISHKAR trips.  Your group travel experience is as important to us as the destination experience.

Cost & Booking Information

The total price for the trip is $4490. A non-refundable deposit of $650 is required to secure your place on the trip.

Please note that by paying the deposit, you agree to abide by our Terms & Conditions.

For further information, contact us at: explore@ishkar.com, or to book a consultation with us: Click here

Please note that a single supplement will be added to the price should you wish to not share a room.

* Where international payments are due, we request that you ensure the full amount is received after all bank charges have been levied, as per the price and currency stated on the invoice stated.

Preorders explained

If an item is out of stock you are able to preorder the item, so that you're first in line when its back. Once you have preordered an item we guarantee the order to be shipped to you within four months. If the item is delivered outside this window we will provide you with your money back. Often the order will arrive well within this four month period. Contact preorders@ishkar.com for more accurate information on when orders for this product are likely to be ready.

Terms & Conditions

Please visit our Terms & Conditions page for further information.

For information relating travel during the time of COVID-19, please visit our COVID-19 Travel Policy.

Detail

OUR DESTINATION

The legend of the three nymphs imagines the birth of Sicily. These splendid beings wandered the globe, gathering fertile soil, small stones and succulent fruit, which they threw in the sea. Their dances illuminated the waters like a rainbow, and a radiant new land emerged from the waves – triangular, a cape beneath each nymph’s feet. The origin myth remains apt: Sicily does seem to offer the best of everything. 

Sicily is the largest island in the Mediterranean. Lying just 150 km from the African continent, it is known for its stunning crystalline coast and verdant hills. These rise up to their highest point on Mount Etna, the active volcano. 

WHY SICILY?

Having previously run trips in Afghanistan, Iraq, DRC and Pakistan, you might ask where does Sicily fit in? ISHKAR was founded to show a more nuanced side to places that the world tends to view through a single lens. And Sicily is perhaps best known for being home to the Italian Mafia.

While the Mafia do play an important role in Sicily’s recent history, they are only one small element of Sicily’s story (and certainly not the most interesting element!).

Sicily has always been a crossroads of civilisations. It is a treasure trove of stories, from its Greek, Roman, Arabic and Norman heritage, to the role it is playing in today’s migratory routes north from Africa. The most impressive memorial to these diverse influences is found in its art and architecture.

The island also played a central role in the Second World War, but the collaboration between the Mafia and the US military is yet to be fully unveiled. We will be following the thread of these stories with award-winning Sicilian photographer Glauco Canalis, whilst taking in Sicily’s stunning coastal landscapes and world-famous cuisine.  

 


 


 



MEET THE MASTER

Born and raised in Piazza Armerina (about 90km West of Catania), Glauco is an award-winning photographer based in London.  His work focuses on youth identity and underrepresented communities in Sicily and across Europe. His past works include the book ‘Sicily-49’, on the American influence in Sicily after the Second World War. He has also documented Catania’s San Berillo, once a notorious red-light district and now a cultural melting pot that will form a highlight of our trip. 

“I look at my work with the idea of what it will mean in a future era. In this post-dated perspective, everything becomes relevant: attitude, fashion, architecture and the landscape inhabited by the subjects.”

@Glaucocanalis


GROUP TRAVEL

Our trips attract informed and adventurous people from all around the world. 

Some of you will be drawn by the promise of great meals, swims and conversation, others will be drawn by the chance to gain a deeper appreciation of history, other’s still to learn how to improve your photography skills by spending time with Glauco. This trip is for all: designed to balance both leisure and discovery. What unites everyone is the same curious spirit and desire to get far away from the typical tourist trails.

We get to know everyone who applies to our trips over the phone. In this way we can curate groups guaranteed to enjoy sharing this extraordinary experience together. 


THE PRICE

The price for the trip is $4490, with the option of an additional single supplement. The price includes 3 meals per day, refreshments, accommodation, transport/ transfers in country and all entrance fees in country. Please get in touch with us for additional information about the extra stay in Filicudi island. 

A deposit of $650 will secure your place. The final sum shall be paid 60 days prior to departure.

Flights, Visas and further information: Once you have completed our application form online and paid your deposit, we will help with identifying suitable flights and support you with your visa application (for non-EU citizens). Prior to departure we will send you a guidebook with additional information including your itinerary and a packing list.

Please contact us at explore@ishkar.com for information on how to apply.


ISHKAR Team Member

Your ISHKAR point of contact for the trip is Ernesto Rollando.

If you have any queries about the trip, Ernesto is always on hand to answer them.  Email explore@ishkar.com.

Ernesto Rollando ~ Project Manager

Although Ernesto’s work mostly focuses on countries including Afghanistan and Paksitan, he is passionate about his own country of Italy. He has visited all of Italy’s 20 regions, only to realise that it would take more than a lifetime to experience all of the country’s natural wealth and cultural heritage. In addition to being an experienced mountaineer, his diverse previous experiences range from working for UNDP in Samoa to learning traditional skills of Oceanic navigation in the Pacific Ocean.  

" class="redactor-linkify-object" />

Highlights

01 / NEXUS OF EMPIRES: ARAB-NORMAN, ROMAN AND GREEK HERITAGE

Once part of the Greek and Roman empires, in 827 a fleet of Arab invaders arrived in Sicily. Within a few years they conquered the island. They were themselves then pushed out of the island from the Normans, however Arab culture continued to co-exist under the Norman kings, resulting in an extraordinary period of cultural synchronism. Discover the traces of this extraordinary period of history in Palermo and the alluring coastal town of Marsala, which in Arabic means “The Port of Allah”.

02 / “OUR LAND, OUR AFFAIRS”: THE MAFIA AND THE CONTROVERSIAL US OCCUPATION

Some believe that Sicily's infamous Mafia - know locally as Cosa Nostra, ‘our thing’ -  are rooted in traditions of Arab banditry that emerged during the Arab downfall on the island in the 11th century. The Mafia was crushed by Fascism in the 1920s and 30s, but returned with the US landing and occupation of Sicily in World War II. Uncover this captivating and tragic part of Sicily’s modern history. 

03 / SAN BERILLO: CROSSROAD OF CONTINENTS

San Berillo is a striking example of today’s multiculturalism on the island. The Senegalese community is the most established in the area, a melting pot of West-African and South-East Asian migrants. With Glauco’s intimate knowledge, discover the sights, scents and stories of this little-known district. 


04 / GASTRONOMY: MULTICULTURAL AND KM0

Almonds, artichokes, cinnamon, oranges, pistachios and watermelons: all these products are now typical in Sicilian cuisine, but they were first introduced from north Africa and the Middle East. Taste these peculiarities of Sicilian gastronomy, a key focus of this itinerary. We will also be sampling some of Sicily’s famous street food: Arancini 

Testimonial

Be ready to get your heart and mind changed. Positive impact travel made possible by ISHKAR and their excellent local partners. I warmly recommend this trip to anyone willing to challenge false perceptions and obsolete fears.

- Sophie Strobele,
ISHKAR Traveller 2020


It was an absolute joy travelling with ISHKAR - immersive, authentic and fun.

- Annabel Illingworth,
ISHKAR Traveller 2020


The trip wasn't just about my view of the place, but all the experiences that I went through together with the group. It was an eye-opening and enriching journey.

- Andi Iskandar,
ISHKAR Traveller 2019

How will Covid-19 affect the trip?

In order to protect both our travellers and those that our travellers come into contact with, we mandate a strict set of COVID-19 protocols which include social distancing, usage of hand sanitiser and the wearing of face coverings.   Our COVID-19 procedures are based on up to date advice from the World Health Organisation in addition to following local requirements. Along with our security information, we ensure to send out our COVID-19 procedures document to every traveller.

All travellers (regardless of vaccination status) are required to obtain a negative PCR test result within 72 hours prior to departure.  Within 24 hours prior to departure travellers (regardless of vaccination status) must also obtain proof of a negative rapid antigen test result.   Proof of both these tests must be sent to ISHKAR prior to departure, and its cost will covered by the traveller, not ISHKAR.

Should ISHKAR decide to cancel a trip as a result of COVID-19 or should a traveller be unable to take part in the trip as a result of COVID-19, you will be offered options including a full refund as per our COVID-19 Travel Policy.  Any further questions, please take a look at our COVID-19 Travel FAQs, and our generic COVID-19 Protocols, or contact a member of the team: explore@ishkar.com

What is the weather like in September?

Sicily has a mediterranean climate meaning that autumn is typically warm and dry, with some exceptional precipitation.  The average high in the capital Palermo is 21ºC in September. This falls to 16ºC at night, so you should bring some warmer clothes for the evenings. The sea temperature is 21ºC, while humidity's low. There's 22mm of rain over up to five days, and you can expect 14 hours of daylight with nine hours of sunshine each day.

Where can I see the exact itinerary?

We do not publish our itineraries online.  We will give further information about the itinerary upon enquiry. Please write to explore@ishkar.com to request the trip information pack.

What is included in the cost?

The cost includes all accommodation, guiding, transport/transfers, breakfast, lunch and dinner and entrance fees. It does not include international flights into Catania  and out of Palermo, visa fees, insurance, excess baggage charges, cameras, alcohol, additional food and drinks, medical expenses, tipping.

When do I need to book?

As early as possible, this trip is likely to be booked up fast.  A deposit of $650 will secure your place, and the final balance needs to be paid 60 days prior to departure. You can pay this online, or via bank transfer directly to us.

How easy is it to get a visa?

If you are part of the SCHENGEN region, visa is not required.  However, if you do require a visa, we will provide you with additional advice to help with your application, along with advice for your country of residence.  Please note that if you do require a visa, it is your responsibility to arrange it prior to departure.

Do I need travel insurance?

We mandate that you will need full travel insurance specific to the region and activities.

Will I be able to travel on my own?

We will stay as a group for the duration of the trip. You may choose to travel on your own before the start or after the finish of the trip, but whilst travelling with ISHKAR you are requested to remain with the group.

Do I need any vaccinations?

Country specific information can be found at https://travelhealthpro.org.uk/.

What do I need to bring?

We will send you a more detailed handbook before leaving, including recommended reading and clothing.

Where will we be staying?

We will be staying in hotels and artistic guest houses throughout the trip.  You have the option to share a room, or to pay the single supplement (details available on the application form) if you wish to have your room.

Can I come on my own?

Yes of course! Individuals and small groups are equally welcome. Personally, we also think this could be the perfect trip to experience with a friend, parent, child, or partner!

When do I need to book my flights?

If you are thinking of applying, please email us at explore@ishkar.com and we will send you the flights you will need to book, in order to ensure that all travellers’ arrivals are coordinated.

Can I book even if I don’t live in the UK?

Yes of course, our travellers always come from a mix of different countries.

Do I need to have a good camera for the trip?

No, feel free to bring any camera you wish, including just using the camera on your phone.

Can I come on my own?

Yes of course! Individuals and small groups are equally welcome. Personally, we also think this could be the perfect trip to experience with a friend, parent, child, or partner!

What is the food like?

All meals are included.  Sicilian cuisine is exceptional and all our restaurants have been carefully chosen. 

When do I need to book my flights?

If you are thinking of applying, please email us at explore@ishkar.com and we will send you the flights you will need to book, in order to ensure that all travellers’ arrivals are coordinated.

Can I book even if I don’t live in the UK?

Yes of course, our travellers always come from a mix of different countries. You will just need to arrive on the Saturday in Catania. 

Do I have to be a keen photographer to take part in this trip?

No absolutely not.  There will be plenty of opportunities to explore the region without your camera, and Glauco will be happy to provide tips only if you wish to have them.

Do I need to have a good camera for the trip?

No, feel free to bring any camera you wish, including just using the camera on your phone.

Looking for something else

Similar Products

Swipe left for more

Looking for something else

Similar Products

Swipe left for more
  • On the shores of Lake Kivu, at the border of DRC & Rwanda.  Photographer: Michael Christopher Brown
£{{amount}}

Cart

Product added to your Cart

X